Editorial Part ||

The Character Portrait

STATEMENT OF INTENT

For this part of the editorial assignment, we are asked to produce a studio-based portrait of an individual, making use of lighting and posing the model to portray something about them. I’m planning to look for interesting characters with interesting features or uncommon look, as it would make the portrait very interesting. I will look through Richard Avedon, Annie Leibovitz and David Bailey’s work, as they have created similar work which are studio based and I could be inspired by it. During the first part of the assignment, I met a man who I thought could be an interesting person to photograph not only because of how he looks but also because of his personality. I could create powerful portraits by combining his look to his personality, just have to think how in what way I could portray this person.

MOODBOARD /IDEAS

untitled-klk1

untitled-1

jijiji

PLANNING SHOOT

I now have to plan my shoot by thinking about who I’m going to photograph, how and what lighting set ups I’m going to use.

During the lessons we considered ways and rules on how we could reveal something interesting with more context of a person, this is all about how we as photographers interact with our subject, the lighting we choose, the depth of field and how we pose our subjects.

Firstly you have to put your subject at ease by talking to them asking them questions. Then when taking the pictures always think about the composition and lighting.

Even before taking the pictures, though, you have to think about what lighting set up you want to use, so we looked at different lighting set ups, the ones which I think I might use are:

Rembrandt lighting: which is used in studio portrait photography. It can be achieved by using one light and a reflector. The key in Rembrandt lighting is creating a triangle of light underneath the eye and lit one side of the face with the main light source and the other side of the face should be shadowy, creates a chiaroscuro effect.

Butterfly Lighting: As its name, this setup is created by the way you angle the light to fall on the face of your subject. It can be achieved by Often the Butterfly Lighting setup is enhanced with a reflector or fill light in front of the subject, under the frame of the shot to make the eyes brighter as the light at such a high camera angle makes the eyes very dark. Butterfly lighting is for fashion or glamour shoots. For the fact that it does not create a lot of shadows it can add a bit off weight on the face for those who have a rounder face.

I will also think how I can use depth of field to make my photos look more interesting also using point of view from a high or low angle can say a lot about a photograph. It is also good to know that some people are not aware of their natural body position so when directing my subject to pose how I want her to can be challenging but is good that we’ve been given few tips on which poses are good and not good for a male or a female.

SELECTED SHOTS .. CONTACT SHEET

FINAL

IMG_1937.jpg
The Environmental Portrait

STATEMENT OF INTENT

For this part of the editorial assignment, we are asked to produce an environmental portrait of an interesting individual that has a story to tell. We’ve been asked to think carefully about the location we use, consider lighting, composition and design and also think about props. I have found an interesting guy who works in Moss Bross a shop for formal suits and designer menswear. To find some inspiration I will look thought the Moss Bross website and their lookbook just to have a rough idea of how they photograph to advertise their brand. Because this isn’t a fashion shoot or to advertise something I have to make it look more personal and much more as a portrait so I will look through David Bailey and Richard Avedon again. But I also found some portraits from Irving Penn which I think were quite interesting.

MOODBOARD /IDEAS

PLANNING SHOOT

Remember tips from lesson

  • Use lighting to create your mood ( I’m planning to use continuous lighting and a reflector)
  • Dynamic and varying compositions/ Use depth of field to your advantage ( I can do a lot with composition and depth of field as it is in a store and therefore will have a lot of things around my subject)
  • Don’t be afraid to play with scale
  • Interact with your subject
  • Use the best poses and posture

SKETCHES

DIAGRAM, LIGHTING ETC

SHOTS .. CONTACT SHEET

EVALUATE FINALS

img_0178img_0184img_0173img_0153img_0152

FINAL

img_0178

Leave a Reply

